WoodWorkIng.

My latest plan to purge myself of boredom is at hand! I will create a table. Not just any table, but as they say in Espanol: La mesita de centro.

That’s right, I will create a coffee table. Turn away now if you don’t care about woodwork.

Here is an enormous picture of my initial plan:

Plans for a beautiful Table

Now allow me to explain. The tabletop was initially meant to be made of one large piece of wood, however from research done today at the woodcutting place, I probably won’t be able to get a plank that big or it will split and bend as it dries like some kind of crazy slug. Because of this i will try my hand at buying one long plank, say 10′ x 1′ x 2″, chop it in half and laminate it together with maybe some dowels or a mortis and tenon joint. This should give me easily enough width and thus el Table will be most of the way there.

The plan then is to cut it to a fairly rough rounded shape and then plane and sand down until smooth and rounded at the edges. I will then take a hole saw and cut four approx. 100mm diameter sections through the board. Then I will insert the legs.

These legs, as kind of visible on the picture, will have a thin end and a thick end. Sort of like two cylinders of differing diameter placed on top one another. The ledge formed by the thicker will support most of the weight of the table and the thinner will do all of the joining together and carry some of the load. The smaller cylinder will be made by fist making the larger, then cutting down with the hole saw and across with a hack, this could be tricky.

There is a plan included on the insert to make a mini mortis and tenon ‘lock’ between the leg and tabletop. That has pretty much been written off in lieu of it being much too hard, but it would be cool and look great on top.

For the legs I will probably have to buy some large pieces of wood and round them off. What makes this job particularly interesting is that I only have two power tools available to me. A jigsaw and a drill. The sanding and planing will be done by hand, unless I can find a drill bit that will do it for me. I plan to start in the next week or so and will post updates on how the project progresses.

I should also point out that I haven’t even a GCSE in resistant materials, I took Graphic Products. Not that my design skills benefited much. So I’ll be pretty proud if this actually works out.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “WoodWorkIng.”

  1. Gregory Despain Says:

    Great post. I appriciate when people take the time to write quality articles.

  2. Logan Wright Says:

    I cannot see your site properly on my iPhone (I have the 3G, not 3GS). Anyway, I have put your RSS into my laptop, so thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

